Helping lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer adults share their stories of resilience at every school nationwide.

Melineh went back to her school!

Below, in her own words, is the empowering story Melineh shared with Back To Your School about the visit home she was inspired to make:

“I was unbelievably inspired by backtoyourschool.org to finally do something that I had long thought about… go back to my high school and check in and see what resources are available to LGBTQ students there.

When I was a student at Wichita East High School in Kansas (Class of ’96), there were no resources for me as a young person struggling with the possibility that I might be gay. In fact, I even went so far as to think that I was the only gay Armenian in the world!

This week, I went back to visit some teachers, and eventually found myself speaking with the teacher sponsor of my school’s gay-straight alliance. They have over 30 members, and meet once a week for lunch. I offered myself as a possible resource and mentor for any kids who have questions about growing up gay in Kansas and living well to tell the tale.  Honestly, I feel like this is one of the things in life I was meant to do. I’m grateful to have been able to do this, and I look forward to actually connecting with the kids themselves.”

Thank you, Melineh, for sharing this story!

Leave a Reply

